jump to navigation

Socrates, possible tool? November 30, 2005

Posted by charmingbutsingle in Uncategorized.
trackback

“Hi S. It’s [Relief Worker’s Full Name]. Please give me a call. I would appreciate it.”

I furrowed my brow and replayed the message.

The slightly cold tone, the shortness, the fact that he used his first and last name all made it sound like a voicemail I’d leave for someone I was annoyed with at work. Maybe I’d leave it for an acquaintance, but not for a friend and certainly not at 9:15 at night for someone who I’d previously taken to dinner on a couple of occasions.

I was puzzled, so I listened again, trying to discern what his message wasn’t saying, imputing significance on what really was just a voicemail. I am quite experienced with this routine – the confusing voicemail, the unclear text message, the random e-mail. Courting is so very high-tech these days, Romeo and Juliet would rely on that creepy guy from the eHarmony commercials to determine if they had similar opinions on if a rose by any other name would smell so sweet.

I turned down the stereo and covered my other ear, pressing my cell phone into the side of my head, as if proximity to my eardrum would offer clarity as to the message and clues to the cause of its curtness. Frustrated, I gave up and went to bed.

I never did figure it out.

According to Socrates, “The unexamined life is not worth living.” And, generally speaking, I don’t question the guy on this point, because I’ve reaped much from the careful examination and attention to pattern and detail in my own life. (Not that I’ve used everything discovered in these little S self-exams, but I have found them useful.)

However, each time I waste 10 minutes dedicating an earnest ear to decoding an everyday voicemail, half an hour composing the perfectly punchy flirty e-mail to a man or an afternoon forwarding a text message around so my committee of girlfriends can dissect it, I wonder if Socrates wasn’t, as Bridget Jones’s mother put it, “a bit of a sh-t.”

Comments»

1. Joanne - December 1, 2005

OMG! How many times have I stared at the screen on my cell phone wondering how to interprete the text which was in front of me! Recently finding that I could get offended from a Text Message, only to find out days later that I had totally misconstrued it and it meant the opposite of what I thought it did…!

2. Laura - December 1, 2005

So true, and love the Bridget Jones quote. It actually made me giggle 🙂

3. Diane Mandy - December 1, 2005

I do the same thing. But I was **really*** pleased to discover, on a recent road trip with two male buddies, that guys due the same thing! These two asked me to listen to a one woman’s voicemail and read another woman’s e-mail, in an effort to understand what wasn’t being stated. It made me feel all warm inside knowing that they go through the same mental exercises on occasion!

4. Lisa - December 1, 2005

I so remember doing all of that stuff. I remember going back over conversations a thousand times in my head and wondering if I was flirty enough or too flirty. It drove me crazy and I lost losts of sleep wondering, “When I said this, did he think I was being a bitch? When I said that, did he think I was being nice or a complete doormat? What did he mean when he said it like THAT?”

5. Vixen - December 1, 2005

LOL! Yep, that has happened to me several times, even last night. I think it’s second nature to try to decipher inferences.

6. Neil - December 1, 2005

Remember, Socrates didn’t really have a job. He got fed by others and hung out at the homes of his boy “students.” So, of course, he had plenty of time to examine everything.

7. sethro - December 1, 2005

I think its just human nature to examine these messages. I’ve done it, my friends have done it. That curiousity and hopeful understanding isn’t bound by gender.

As for Socrates, he wasn’t such a shit. He did note, quite accurately, that If one marries a good wife, happiness; if a bad wife, one becomes a philosopher.

8. Brooke - December 1, 2005

You were right. I’m back.

9. charming, but single - December 1, 2005

Yay! Comments.

I’m glad I’m not the only one who over examines.

And sorry if I offended any Socrates-loving readers out there …

Brooke, you lasted, like what, four days?

10. serendipity - December 2, 2005

Oh god the overanalysis! i do it all the time. I try very hard not to but let’s face it – when it comes to men we need all the second and third opinions we can get.

They are bloody confusing!!

11. cherchezlafemme - February 10, 2006

I have a feeling Socrates wasn’t talking about quite this thing when he talked about unexamined life. But of course everything is open to interpretation. I can relate to the overthinking overanalyzing part though – I tend to do it with every single thing in my life. I swear I have it listed as one of my interests in my profile!


Leave a comment